19 Dec
2017

County services and facilities impacted by holidays

Picton – The holidays will affect County of Prince Edward services and facilities as follows:

Garbage and Recycling

• Blue Box: Curbside collection will be impacted in North and South Marysburgh and Athol. Collection scheduled for Monday, Dec. 25 will be collected on Saturday, Dec. 23. Collection scheduled for Monday, Jan. 1 will be collected on Saturday, Dec. 30.

• Garbage/Green Bin: Curbside garbage and compost collection will not be disrupted by the holidays.

• Landfill/Transfer Sites: Landfills and transfer stations will be open on Saturday, Dec. 23 from 8 am to 4 pm. The Picton Transfer Station is open regular hours, 8am to 4pm, on Wednesday, Dec. 27 and all sites will be open regular hours, 8 am to 4 pm, on Saturday, Dec. 30.

Offices and Facilities

Municipal Offices

• Friday, Dec. 22 – 8:30 am to noon
• Monday, Dec. 25 –  Closed
• Tuesday, Dec. 26 – Closed
• Wednesday, Dec. 27 through Friday, Dec. 29 – 8:30 am to 5 pm
• Monday, Jan. 1 – Closed
• Tuesday, Jan. 2 through Friday, Jan. 5 – 8:30 am to 5 pm

For emergency inquiries:

• By-law Enforcement / Canine Control: 613.476.7666
• Roads: 613.476.6505
• Water and Wastewater: 613.967.8777
• PEC Fire and Rescue: 911 for emergencies / 613.476.2345 for non-emergencies. Please note: PEC Fire & Rescue is open 24/7 over the holiday season, including statutory holidays. 

Community Centres and Arenas

Prince Edward Community Centre

• Dec. 24 – 8 am to 3 pm
• Dec. 25 – 7 am to 5 pm
• Dec. 26 – Closed
• Jan.  1st – Closed

 Wellington and District Community Centre

• Dec. 24 – 8 am to noon
• Dec. 25 – Closed
• Dec. 26 – Closed
• Jan. 1 – Noon – 5 pm

Visit The County website for the public skating schedule over the holidays. 

- 30 -

For media inquiries, please contact Mark Kerr at 613.476.2148 ext. 1009 or by email at mkerr@pecounty.on.ca

Back