20 Mar

NOTICE: Mayor forms task teams to support COVID-19 response

Mayor Steve Ferguson has formed several task teams led by County councillors that will support the municipality’s response to the COVID-19 pandemic outbreak.

“Drawing on the expertise and experience of councillors, all of whom are known to the community at large, is the best and quickest way to gather information support community actions now and in the future,” Mayor Ferguson says.

Councillors have agreed to lend their support to the following task teams: 

• Business and the economy – Councillors Phil St-Jean, Mike Harper, Stewart Bailey, and Bill McMahon
• Seniors and accessibility – Councillors Ernie Margetson, Andreas Bolik, and Brad Nieman
• Agriculture and farming – Councillors Janice Maynard, Phil Prinzen, and Jamie Forrester
• Food and food insecurity – Councillors Bill Roberts, Kate MacNaughton, and John Hirsch  

Community members are encouraged to reach out directly to councillors to share information about community needs or ideas about practical solutions. Councillors’ contact information is posted on the County website.

The Municipal Control Group continues to meet frequently to lead the municipality’s emergency response to the COVID-19 outbreak. Up to date information on the County’s response to the COVID-19 pandemic is posted on the County website: www.thecounty.ca/county-residents/covid-19